Have I Learnt Nothing???

19 Mar

n'est pas related to this post

I was just at a talk about how to be the most super blogger imaginable with blog stars (and my new favourite people) Casie Stewart, Sean Ward, and Raymi the Minx, and here I am not blogging every day.

In light of this, I have decided to make it my personal goal to at least post SOMETHING every.single.day. If I don’t, you can punch me in the face….not really, but you can direct nasty comments my way. I’m not promising the content will be fab seven days a week, but there will be some stalking material.

I will be posting a video from the event on My City Lives over the next couple days, so watch out for that y’all.

In the quickest recap imaginable, here’s some things to keep in mind if you’re planning on being of blogging fame:

  • be real – honesty and transparency goes a long way. For some people, sharing every aspect of their life, personal and not, works, for some, slices of genuine experiences are adequate. Depends on your style and comfort level, but there has to be an element of reality.
  • become a character – the key to popularity is building your identity as a brand. If you’re interesting and thought provoking, people will come.
  • Use all social networking elements – There are countless free applications at our disposal we can take advantage of (like RSS and hash tags) that will allow us to create an interconnected network of people who can be drawn to your blog.
  • Aim high – Striving to be the best, as cheesy as it sounds, is the only way to make it to the top. Confidence and optimism will get you places.
  • Consistency – as I said, posting frequently will keep traffic coming to your site on a consistent basis. Your readers are counting on you.

13 Responses to “Have I Learnt Nothing???”

  1. Adil March 19, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    Good on you for striving to get better Romi. I checked out the twitter stream from the event and the other thing I picked up on was what to do with haters: embrace them. Their inevitable and in many cases, your most loyal followers.

    Looking forward to the video!

  2. Sean March 19, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    So glad you got so much out of our event! Inspiring people is the best reward of all. Post somethinge every day, even if it’s goofy pictures or dirty limericks. I used to post nonsense verse for filler! And those were some of my favorite posts!

    Can’t to see your blog blow up.

    • romeh March 19, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

      Ya I figured I can find some decent filler pretty easily…and by decent I mean at least entertaining.

      Wicked talk last night / I thoroughly enjoyed your ppoint.

      Hopefully my blog blows up (not literally). Keep cheering me on šŸ™‚

      • Sean March 19, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

        I’ll do it! Let’s kick it!

  3. Carly March 19, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Thanks so much for coming out last night Romi. It was great to have you and I can’t wait to see what you post on My City Lives.

    • romeh March 19, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

      Thank YOU for organizing the event. It was fab!

  4. djdemers March 19, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    It was a cool event. Awesome seeing you there. I too left the event feeling like a sack of crap for not posting every day. I’m so busy, I have nothing to say, etc. Not valid excuses. Keep up the good work, Romeslice. See you Monday.

    • romeh March 19, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      glad we’re on the same boat. Our blogs will soon be a thing of legends. We’ll be virtual celebrities in no time.

      Looking forward to Monday!

  5. Dylan Young March 19, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Sitting down in a grade four classroom I looked up and saw this banner; Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss you still land amongst the stars. I realize the words of this meant to aim high and dream big but as a cause and effect rule if you don’t hit at what you were aiming at then you miss. If you miss the moon then that’s particular worse in my opinion; even Apollo 13 which, was a big mess up even reached its target area so why can’t we do the same?
    I say ‘TRUMP’ to your shenanigans and will keep a running tally for days missed. Upon my return I sincerely hope you keep your promise or this will be a Slapsgiving to end all givings!!
    By doing so I sincerely hope to tear up this now metaphorical poster in my mind and not play childish mind games. You want something then you go and get it; wasn’t Will Smith up for an Oscar for saying that? Hell, if the fresh prince can make sense of that then I’m down with this fresh approach. Let the Slap Tally COMMENCE!!

    • romeh March 19, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

      Thanks dad.

      I will aim to avoid slappage when you come back. / thank you for being my loyal commenter. You are #1.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. seanward.net » The #blogstars Wrap-Up - March 19, 2010

    […] And another that went up today, by Romi – romisays.wordpress.com/2010/03/19/have-i-learnt-nothing/ […]

  2. Raymi The Minx » Blog Archive » oh darling you’re a million ways to be cruel - March 19, 2010

    […] brooker blogged the event. so did romi. Posted on March 19, 2010 at 5:56 pm Posted in […]

  3. seanward.net » #blogstars in Review - March 21, 2010

    […] Romi Says feels inspired to kick her blogging into high gear […]

Leave a comment