A Recipe For The Culinarily Challenged

9 Jun

I can’t cook for the life of me. Don’t get me wrong, I love food. There are few things that can excite me like a good meal, but I am incapable of being creative in the kitchen. I am, however, making the effort to try to be more risqué (a.k.a. not make Kraft Dinner) with my food preparation and I’ve started with pasta sauces.

This is not, I repeat NOT, for the veteran chefs because my amateurism will make you cry a little. This post is for all of those lazy people like myself who haven’t the time and effort to spend hours in the kitchen.

And now to make some butternut squash pasta sauce. mmmmm….


Ingredients:

Butternut Squash – you can buy skinless, seedless squash at the grocery store. Trust me, you want to do this because it’s a bitch to slice and dice. This saves you some energy / frustration.

Salt + Pepper, olive oil, garlic, and any extra seasoning you feel would be a good addition (I chose cinnamon and cilantro)

Half and half cream

Water

Instructions:

Cut the squash into cubes, put it on a baking tray. Season it with oil, S+P etc… and put it in the oven at 375 c for 40 minutes. Once the squash is soft, throw it in a food processor of some kind while gradually adding some cream and eventually a cup and a half of water. And you’re done.

I recommend serving with cheese + spinach tortellini.

Bon Appetit!

2 Responses to “A Recipe For The Culinarily Challenged”

  1. Tes June 9, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    It sounds delicious, can’t wait to try it on my pasta.

  2. Natalie June 9, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Poor Man’s Cooking Show starring Chef Romi? Sold. Next week, new creative ideas for the forgotten condiments in your fridge

Leave a Reply

