In MY Humble Opinion

16 Apr

Here’s the story behind the poll from the last post:

I was on Perez Hilton (I’m not even going to try and defend myself here.), and I noticed there was a post regarding the criticisms faced by Dancing With The Stars contestant and journalist Erin Andrews. Who was featured as the main critic? The Toronto Star‘s very own Rosie DiManno.

If you read The Star you’ll know how DiManno writes. The woman once wrote a piece about kicking someone in the balls at a McDonalds. Needless to say, she has very strong opinions, most of which I do not agree with. The fact that she holds these opinions doesn’t bother me (to an extent), because every single person is entitled to their opinions. She isn’t being a bigot, she’s just really, really enjoys complaining. It’s part of her shtick. 

Here is my quip with DiManno: Most of her editorials are on either the first or second page of the newspaper. I am a strong believer in the power of editorials, and they certainly have a place in the paper, even in the news section, but when an angry editorial about some sports-related pop culture “issue” comes before serious news stories, it concerns me.

The other problem, however, is no one really reads print newspapers anymore. Perhaps DiManno’s front-page editorals are what brings people to pick up a Star. As much as I would love for everyone to read a newspaper, using shock value to lure them in doesn’t seem like the right way to go.

Back to the Perez post. The main argument DiManno had with Andrews appearing on DWTS was the following:

I’m appalled by the damage she is doing to her profession and her own reputation as a journalist.

This seems kind of hypocritical for ball-busting DiManno who often says controversial things essentially because she can. A strong opinion in place of news has more journalistic integrity than a journalist dancing on television? I don’t think so.

But hey, that’s just my humble opinion.

Leave a Reply

