TTC Diaries: Town Hall

12 Apr

Dear Diary,

Finally got around to reading a recap of Sunday’s Town Hall meeting between TTC riders, management, and union leader Bob Kinnear.

I’m glad this is happening, sad it took them this long.

The productivity of the meeting seemed low, but some attendees appreciated the effort of organizers. Others, however, seemed irked by the lack of topics covered.

It seems like Kinnear at least made an honest effort to speak truthfully about the abuses to customer service, but as stated in the Star article, he should not be the one speaking. It’s better to hear concerns right from the horse’s mouth, so to speak. TTC management, and employees should be accountable, not the ringleader.

There are still more Town Halls to take place, so problems from the first may sort themselves out, but I’m hoping this isn’t just a good PR stint. I, as a daily TTC-riding commuter, would like to see these meetings happen very frequently. I would also like to see change happen as a direct result of these events.

If I were to attend the next Town Hall meeting, this is what I would ask:

– What could ease my daily 1.5 hour commute (each way)?

– Why is there a severe lack of maintenance on the TTC? I’m talking back doors on buses that don’t open, token machines that have been broken for months, and automated Metropass vendors that run out of Metropasses a day into the month.

– I would bring up a personal complaint based on my experience getting on the wrong bus. From the back of a bus at Wilson Station, the bus number was 96B, which is the bus I take to Humber, when on the front of the bus, the number was 165. Got on the bus, and ended up down Weston road. Confused, and feeling like an idiot, I asked the bus driver where I was, perplexed that I had gotten on the wrong bus. I could swear I read the sign right. Bus driver had no idea what I was talking about and told me to cross the street to catch a bus back to Wilson.

The next day, I was at Wilson station and again, I see a bus that from behind said 96B, and in front, read 165. My suspicions were validated, and I decided to confront the bus driver about it. He rudely said he was aware of this sign malfunction, and added “my riders know about it”, to which I said “well, I didn’t know about it”.  I’m sure I’m not the only one who got on that bus, confused when I didn’t end up where I was supposed to be.

I’m sure I could think of a million other questions for the panel, but I’m well aware that fellow TTC riders have experienced the exact same things as I have and will confront those who run our beloved transit service on their flaws.

I will, in the future, try my best to make it to one of these meetings, granted they take place past the existing dates scheduled.

Thanks for listening, Diary.

xo

Romi

5 Responses to “TTC Diaries: Town Hall”

  1. Dan April 12, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    I would hope you could go to the next one, apparently only 42% of the attendants were actual TTC users.

    so either they were very confused old people, or the 113’s donuts are just THAT good.

    • romeh April 12, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

      It’s a shame. Hopefully I can make it to the May 2 one at Ryerson. I’m sure (hopeful) there will be an abundance of TTC riders in attendance, mostly students.

      And donuts would be nice

  2. Sean April 12, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    TTC = bad bad bad.

    You know those dudes collecting fares at an opened door at Union? Sitting with sunglasses and arms folded is not a welcoming stance. And grunting when I ask for input on how to get somehwere, I mean… dude, that’s your job! F*** those guys.

    • romeh April 12, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

      Sitting in a swivel chair for hours is hard work, Sean. Show some sympathy damnit!

      Sucks when there’s awful customer service, because that downplays the amazing work of a lot of great TTC employees.

      One of the Wilson bus drivers puts either a 24 or a Metro on every single seat on his bus for his riders. He also announces every stop and what buses can be caught at each intersection.
      Now THAT is customer service.

      • Sean April 12, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

        Unfortch, sometimes all it takes is one bad apple to spoil the bunch. I have no doubt that sitting in that chair is hard work, but that doesn’t mean you have to be snarly!

Leave a Reply

