Duped

23 Mar

What? He was on sale!

Capitalism: 1      Romi: 0

I read the news a million times a day (literally), I read other things (books, Playboy for the articles etc…), I’ve taken business courses, I’m well aware of what companies are doing to try and get me to by stuff, and yet, I still have the urge to buy sale items for the sake of them being on sale.

I will gravitate towards sale racks, not needing anything or wanting anything, and settle for something kind of cute that is apparently at a discounted price. I am aware that the $30 shirt hanging there is probably only worth $3, but it was marked down from $100, so it MUST be a deal! There’s some evil capitalist based force pulling me towards things I don’t really need and hardly want.

It’s like that extra beer. You know you shouldn’t have one more, and you know it won’t taste that good. In reality, you’ll probably be sick from of it the next day, yet you still get it. Why? Because it’s there.

Don’t think less of me for being a binge shopper.

The first step is admitting you have a problem. The second? You tell me.

One Response to “Duped”

  1. Dylan Young March 23, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    I’m pretty sure the 11th commandment was “Thou shall not pass up a bargain,” so I think you are on a fulfilled and enlightened path.
    The reverse of this is just commenting on why you are determined to spend as little money as possible on objects. It’s like you’re hording money or something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

