TTC Diaries: Manners

24 Feb

Dear Diary,

I make sure to thank my bus driver every single time I get off of the bus. The man / woman just drove me an hour to get to where I want to go. You wouldn’t thank your friend for giving you a lift somewhere?

Amidst the silly scandals, it’s important to give credit where credit is due. I’m sure a lot of TTC folk that work their butts off to serve you are feeling a little down from all this bad press.

A quick thank you can go a long way. Sounds cheesy, and I apologize for talking to you like a child, but the majority of people riding the bus with me every morning are incapable of blurting out a quick “thank you” to the person who got them to Humber College 3 times faster than it would have taken them on the Finch bus.

A thank you.

Love,

R

One Response to “TTC Diaries: Manners”

  1. Jess February 24, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    I completely agree!
    I used to thank the GRT drivers all the time in Waterloo, and found that a lot of people did as well. When I moved to T.O. I realized most people don’t do this, but I still do- even with all of the TTC drama going down.
    The really nice bus drivers definitely seem to appreciate it, so it feels good to thank them. But sometimes you can even find satisfaction in thanking the really rude ones just to have the last word (and maybe leave them thinking about how they’re acting douche-like).
    I have to say, though, that there are a lot of drivers on my bus route who don’t respond to my “thank you” and then I leave feeling awkward. That’s the worst!

Leave a Reply

