TTC Diaries: Coffee Breaks

4 Feb

Dear Diary,

I know they’re trying the customer service thing, but has the TTC been living under a rock for the past couple of years? Did they not realise their bus drivers ALWAYS take food / ATM / coffee breaks while on shift? Why are they only apologizing now?

For as long as I’ve been taking busses (a relatively long time in my relatively short life), I’ve had bus drivers stop the bus to grab a little something something. On my first day at Humber, I took the Finch bus (which took 2.5 hours to get from Finch station to Finch and Islington. I was  so late for school, I had to taxi the rest of the way because someone puked on the bus and they kicked everyone off, only to have to wait for another bus which didn’t come). Midway through the trip, the bus driver got out of the bus for 15 minutes (!!) much to the dismay of outraged students and people trying to get to work. This has happened multiple times on the Finch bus at the exact same place, to the point where I decided to completely change my route.

Note to Humber students: Wilson 96 takes 50 minutes to get to school whereas Finch takes almost 3 times longer (for the same distance, and a more direct route).

So is the new customer service policy for the TTC that they will pay attention to the complaints that get publicized rather than ignoring all complaints always? Because I’m POSITIVE people ratting on the TTC ain’t a new thing.

Oh Diary, when will they ever learn?

Love,

Me.

2 Responses to “TTC Diaries: Coffee Breaks”

  1. Graeme February 4, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    Was it at the Esso/Tim Horton’s at Finch and Weston? The driver always stops there when I’m coming home from work.

    • romeh February 4, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

      that’s the one!!

      Funny how the bus driver literally stops there every time, but only when a similar video goes viral does the TTC take an active role in preventing it. And by preventing I mean one guy got suspended, but I’m sure there are many many more like him who do the exact same thing, waste everyone’s time, but slip under the radar.

Leave a Reply

