Tisn’t The Season Anymore

7 Jan

I’m all for the cyclical seasonal nature of fashion, out with the old, in with the new, but perhaps it should slow down a little bit.

It’s the beginning of January, and spring lines are already emerging. A couple days ago I went to my local mall which is quite small and semi-upscale but has the usual GAP, Roots etc… My mission was to find a pair of warm mittens. I knew some of the retailers in the mall had sold some this season as I had seen them there a month or so ago. To my surprise, I found NOTHING. No one was carrying any kind of gloves anymore except for Roots which had fingerless gloves (what’s the point?).

In a place like freezing cold, snowy Canada, sometimes practicality trumps fashion, or should at least.

I’m ready for spring, yes, but not unless I can survive winter.

2 Responses to “Tisn’t The Season Anymore”

  1. Dylan Young January 7, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Define the practicality of mittens for me. You realize through evolution we developed four fingers and one thumb; that good ol imposable thumb. Yet why do we have mittens? Why do you want to take a step back in evolution and make us equal to penguins? Ever try picking up something with a mitten on? It’s like clapping with one hand.

  2. romeh January 8, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Sometimes my fine motor skills need a break. I have no logical defense. lol

Leave a Reply

