You Shouldn’t Kick A Ginger

24 Nov

I hate to say “when I was their age” but I’m saying it. When I was 11, there was no Facebook, maybe a glimpse of a chat program (ICQ?), and no cyberbullying, but we were still mean kids.

Bullying is not something new but the nature of it is different. My sister is 11 and I thank the internet gods every day that she doesn’t have Facebook yet.

Yes social networking sites can be used by pre-teens correctly but it opens up way too many doors for passive-aggressive kinds of abuse that kids aren’t ready to handle at such a young age. Facebook hate groups, refusing to friend someone, vulnerability regarding who finds them on these sites–all concerns that I know I wouldn’t have coped with in middle school.

Just last week, a scandal at my sister’s school. Kids were suspended acting on “Kick a Ginger Day”. Details of the situation are undisclosed for the privacy of those involved.

In the Star today, students were suspended at a Burlington Elementary school for going through with the assault on fellow classmates.

What’s being done in elementary schools to monitor their student’s use of social networking sites?

Do parents have the responsibility to educate their children on the dangers of internet consumption?

The floor is open – Debate away

6 Responses to “You Shouldn’t Kick A Ginger”

  1. Dan November 24, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    are you sure the line “Kick things off by filling out the form below” is the best choice of words for said discussion? 🙂

  2. Dan November 24, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    of course now that I add a comment, that line disappears…grr

  3. romeh November 24, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    lol, it was never there in the first place!

  4. Dan November 24, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    no, it was…anytime there’s a post without any comments, it will say that – just look at any other posts you have sans comments

  5. romeh November 24, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    Ah gotcha. I thought you meant that I wrote it. That is mildly inappropriate…WP should look into it

    At least it’s gone for now. I’ll just avoid kicking related posts in the future unless I coerce someone into commenting straight away haha

  6. shaunonthehill November 26, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    I’ve heard about Kick a Jew and Kick a Ginger days lately. This clearly isn’t my week, especially for how poorly I do with kicks

Leave a Reply

